Architecture and design
MUMAC is located in one of the buildings of the old Gruppo Cimbali premises, built in the ‘90s as a warehouse. Its typical industrial style (1400 square metres in reinforced concrete and grit) was the subject of an innovative overhaul that lasted about 9 months, changing its official use whilst renovating the structure and transforming it into a museum.
The new facilities boast some significant elements. Outside, the curved metal slats in “Cimbali red” attract and intrigue the visitor. A garden surrounds MUMAC: 9 trees line the entrance path, dividing it into 10 areas to represent the 10 decades of success of the company. Special attention has been paid to the lighting, with a network of 52 lights that embrace the building.
Inside, on the other hand, the white walls and natural light from above contrast with the sepia of the floor, echoing the colour of coffee. The ceilings are more than 8 metres high, allowing the creation of a mezzanine floor in the middle of the building to form a division between the museum area and the section given over to temporary exhibitions. The ground floor houses the reception, cafeteria, museum, the large temporary room, and the training centre. On the first floor, a meeting room overlooking the museum, and a tasting room for the training courses.